Kevin Piercy says “it’s been too long” since the NASCAR Home Tracks national champion has hailed from Hickory Motor Speedway, and he is offering some lucrative incentives to bring the title fight to one of short track racing’s most iconic venues.

The last time a Hickory Motor Speedway regular was crowned a national champion was in 1990 when Max Prestwood, Jr. won the title.  This year, Hickory Motor Speedway is offering a $25,000 bonus to any NASCAR Division I Late Model competitor what wins the NASCAR Home Tracks national championship racing regularly at Hickory, according to a speedway press release.

“I really love this historic facility, and it will always have a special place in my heart,” Piercy said.  “I just want everyone to see what a great place this is to race and we are working hard to make 2020 the best season ever.”

On top of the bonuses offered, Hickory’s press release also states that they hold 35 events over 20 weekends, the majority of the races being twins.  The release also notes that the track had an average car count of 14 during the 2019 season, just two shy of the 16 car field required for maximum points.

If the national championship is not decided at Hickory Motor Speedway, Piercy will post additional year-end bonuses of up to $5,000 for the top-five points finishers who compete in every race at Hickory.

The release states:

To be eligible for the $25,000 National Championship Bonus and the additional money that has been put up by Hickory Motor Speedway, you must meet the following criteria:

  1. All NWAAS Late Model Stock cars must follow all NASCAR, Hickory rules, tire and fuel requirements.
  2. Compete in a minimum of at least 12 weekly events (race weekends) with a minimum of 18 or more starts at Hickory Motor Speedway during the 2020 race season allowing cars from other series to compete for this bonus program.
  3. Be officially named the NASCAR Weekly National Champion by NASCAR.
  • No more than one driver will be eligible for the $25,000 bonus money
  • Please note this additional bonus program is provided by Hickory Motor Speedway and is above and beyond all of NASCAR’s regular series payments

2019 was the first time the national championship was not won by a Virginia-based driver since Anthony Anders’ title in 2014, and the first to be won outside the tri-state area since 2010.  The North Carolina state championship was decided at Southern National Motorsports Park where Bradley McCaskill prevailed in the title race over Hickory regular Thomas Beane in a controversial doubleheader.

While the national title in 2019 was ultimately won by Jacob Goede, the title race appeared as if it would come down to Virginia drivers Mike Looney, Philip Morris, and Peyton Sellers.

Hickory’s announcement comes just days after Wake County Speedway announced it would be NASCAR sanctioned for the first time.