Sam Yarbrough celebrates in victory lane after winning the LMSC feature at Florence Motor Speedway on Friday night. (Photo: Florence Motor Speedway)

TIMMONSVILLE, SC – Shallotte, NC native Sam Yarbrough took the lead with 56 laps to go and claimed the “Prelude To The Southern 500” 100-lap Late Model Stock car race Friday night at the newly re-opened Florence Motor Speedway.

Ryan Glenski started on the pole after running a fast lap of 17.881 seconds to claim the $100 NGI Graphics Pole Award. Glenski and Jason York traded the lead back-and-forth during the opening laps before Glenski finally assumed control on lap 7.  The first caution of the race waved on lap 13 when JJ June spun in turn three.

The first caution of the race waved on lap 13 when JJ June spun in turn three, with York getting the advantage over Glenski to move into the lead on the ensuing restart.  York led until lap 44 when Yarbrough took the top spot as the leaders exited turn two, but he retired from the race due mechanical problems.

Mechanical issues would continue to affect the leaders with Glenski going off track in turn three. Rajah Caruth, who had worked his way into the second position, also fell by the wayside with 17 laps to go as smoke trailed from his car.

Yarbrough never had any issues of his own and went unchallenged in the second half to take the win over Casey Kelley, Perry Patino, Jamie Weatherford, and Gracie Trotter.

Cody Kelly led flag-to-flag to win the Butler Roofing Company Super Trucks race, collecting an additional $200 for the pole and $200 for leading at halfway.  Rounding out the top five were Adam McCumbee, Lucas Williams, Ben Watford, and Jim Krakeel.

Former Florence Motor Speedway track champion, Averitt Lucas, continued his winning ways at the facility to score the Charger division win, but the best battle on track occurred between Corey Weatherford and Dale Driggers for fourth, with the two trading paint on several occasions.

The intense fight finally came to a head with five laps to go when contact from Driggers sent Weatherford spinning in turn two, ending both their nights.  Following Lucas at the checkered flag were Talon Gallimore, Archie Adams, Archie Adams, Jr, and Chris Grainger.

Fans were treated to a barnburner in the Carolina Mini Stock Challenge as Shane Canipe rallied to take the win after relinquishing second place on a Lap 15 caution due to an oil leak.  Canipe’s team fixed the issue but he would have to restart at the rear of the field.

Back under green, AJ Sanders took the lead away from the fast qualifier, Robert Strimska, only for Strimska to reassume control lap 24. Three laps later, Sanders came charging back into the top spot all while Canipe had made his way back to third and within striking distance of the leaders.

Coming to the white flag, Sanders and Strimska touched in turn four, allowing Canipe to sneak by for the win.  Sanders finished second in front of Strimska, Matt Briggs, and Brandon Johnson.

Ricky Locklair, Jr. taking the Modified win while Allen Kelly was the winner in Vintage Cup. Clint Coker took the checkered flag for 6-Cylinders.

The next scheduled event at Florence Motor Speedway will be on Saturday night, Oct.17th and will be followed by the South Carolina 400 weekends on Nov. 13-14 and Nov. 20-21.  Be sure to “Like” Florence Motor Speedway on Facebook and follow @FlorenceMSpdwy on Twitter to keep up on all that’s going on in 2020 or visit