Burt Myers brought home his record-tying 10th Modified championship at Bowman Gray Stadium on Saturday evening, which he accomplished by finishing in front of fellow 10-time Modified track champion Tim Brown. (Photo: Corey Latham)

The final race of the 2019 season at Bowman Gray Stadium provided a packed house the typical action and fireworks that have become synonymous with the historic facility, as Brandon Ward and Tommy Neal took home checkered flags in the Modified and Sportsman divisions while Burt Myers picked up his 10th track championship in Modified competition.

The Sportsman drivers kicked off the evening’s festivities with Brian Shupe leading the field to the green, but it would only take a lap for Michael Adams to take over the top spot for himself.

Adams’ advantage would be short-lived, as Neal got a strong run underneath him and pulled away with the lead, and would withstand charges from both Dylan Ward and Zack Oren to secure the victory.

Ward and Ore came home in second and third, while Justin Taylor’s fourth-place finish was enough for him to take home the Bowman Gray Sportsman title. Wesley Thompson completed the Top 5 finishers.

The Modifieds began their feature shortly after the conclusion of post-race ceremonies for the Sportsman division, with Lee Jeffreys rocketing to an early lead after earning the pole position for the 150-lap feature.

A multi-car pileup on Lap 4 opened the door for Ward to take the lead away from Jeffreys while veteran Tim Brown followed closely behind in second. Brown soon found his rearview mirror full of Myers, with the two only being separated by seven points heading into Saturday night.

After briefly holding the lead for five laps, Brown was nudged out of the way by James Civali on Lap 79, which allowed Myers to take the second position away and take over the lead in the Modified point standings.

Myers did not play a role in Ward and Civali’s battle for the win, which concluded with Civali spinning after contact with Ward, but he did enough to keep Brown behind him and pick up his 10th Modified track championship at Bowman-Gray, which ties Brown’s record that he set back in 2015.

Modified Results:

1 04 Brandon Ward Winston-Salem, NC 2150
2 79 James Civali Davidson, NC 1150
3 1 Burt Myers Walnut Cove, NC 1025
4 65 Danny Bohn Huntersville, NC 785
5 4 Jason Myers Walnut Cove, NC 725
6 18 Daniel Yates Lexington, NC 685
7 75 Lee Jeffreys Wallburg, NC 745
8 77 Susan Harwell Jonesville, NC 605
9 34 George Brunnhoelzl III Mooresville, NC 575
10 41 Chris Williams Martinsville, VA 555
11 78 Jody Fritts Winston-Salem, NC 490
12 83 Tim Brown Tobaccoville, NC 470
13 24 Andrew Harrah Greensboro, NC 450
14 22 Jonathan Brown Winston-Salem, NC 430
15 16 Chris Fleming Mount Airy, NC 410
16 69 John Holleman Winston-Salem, NC 390
17 8 Darin Redmon Walnut Cove, NC 380
18 5 Randy Butner Pfafftown, NC 370
19 30 Steven Lane Winston-Salem, NC 360
20 2 Joseph Brown Winston-Salem, NC 350
21 53 John Smith Mount Airy, NC 290
22 17 Zack Staley Winston-Salem, NC 270
23 81 Zack Clifton Walkertown, NC 250
24 51 Drew Moffitt Lexington, NC 240
25 31 Zach Brewer Winston-Salem, NC 240
26 66 Ronnie Clifton Walkertown, NC 240
27 36 Cory Lovette Walnut Cove, NC 240

Sportsman Results:

1 21 Tommy Neal Walkertown, NC 605
2 7 Dylan Ward Winston-Salem, NC 405
3 55 Zack Ore Winston-Salem, NC 325
4 12 Justin Taylor Kernersville, NC 265
5 22 Wesley Thompson Mocksville, NC 235
6 19 Michael Adams Yadkinville, NC 215
7 4 Spencer Martin Wallburg, NC 195
8 31 Chase Robertson Winston-Salem, NC 175
9 3 Jeff Garrison Arcadia, NC 155
10 92 Kyle Southern Rural Hall, NC 145
11 2 Amber Lynn Walkertown, NC 110
12 03 Sterling Plemmons Winston-Salem, NC 100
13 66 Tim Giesen Mocksville, NC 90
14 80 Brian Shupe Winston-Salem, NC 80
15 30 Blake Shupe Mt Airy, NC 70
16 38 Mitch Gales Thomasville, NC 70
17 27 Coy Beard Lexington, NC 70