The second annual “Motor Mountain Masters” race at Jennerstown Speedway Complex for Martella’s Pharmacies Late Models attracted competitors from ten states, and Todd Stone, of Middlebury CT, was the winner. For winning the 150-lap crown jewel event presented by Arsenberger Trucking and sponsored by Dale Oxygen, Stone was paid $10,000 for his night’s work. Also celebrating in Stoney’s Beer Victory Lane were R.J. Dallape, who won the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Modified race – collecting $3,000 courtesy of, and Dale Kimberly, winner of the Farmers Union Co-Op Chargers’ event.

Four different drivers led laps during the second annual Motor Mountain Masters event, over the course of three separate segments of racing for the Martella’s Pharmacies Late Model division’s biggest race in over 25 years. Officially, six lead changes were recorded, and the first driver to move into position number one was fastest qualifier Ray Christian. The young Connecticut driver led the most laps, holding the top spot three different times in two different segments.

Josh Brock, of Corbin, KY, placed second in the 2018 running of the “Masters,” and he won segment two of three on Saturday. Brock, is a former Champion of the CRA touring series, but immediately dropped back several positions in segment two. Todd Stone won the second segment, leaving 60 laps to decide the “Masters” winner in segment three. Tenth place starter, Mike Hopkins, of Hermon, ME, grabbed the lead from Christian on lap 108 of 150, as Stone cruised in third place.

The Late Models come to the green flag for the start of the Motor Mountain Masters $10,000 to win race. (Blake Harris photo)

On lap 114, Stone took the second position from Christian and a memorable battle for the lead soon developed. For several laps, leader Hopkins and Stone raced side by side, and more than once the duo rubbed fenders and nudged bumpers. On lap 140, Stone claimed the lead, then masterfully worked lapped traffic to earn the Motor Mountain Master title and the red sportcoat, massive trophy, and $10,000 check.

“This is the biggest race I’ve ever won. For our team, winning against this field of drivers is like winning the Daytona 500,” Stone proclaimed, standing in Stoney’s Beer Victory Lane. Hopkins placed second, Christian finished third, with fellow Connecticut driver Cory Casagrande earning fourth place. Brock claimed fifth place, and current Jennerstown Speedway point standings leader Teddy Gibala finished in the sixth position. Recent winner and former Jennerstown Champion Garry Wiltrout started 17th and advanced to a seventh-place finish at his home track. Ben Rowe, a former Champion of the PASS tour was eighth, among a field of 38 drivers.

The list of competitors included “top ten racers” from four different national touring series. Race winner, Stone, as an example, competes on tour with the Granite State Pro Stock Series in the Northeast. Another Granite State tour racer, Jimmy Renfrew was ninth, and Jennerstown’s own, Jarred Barclay was tenth. Barclay, a rookie, earned the “Hard Charger Award” by passing the most cars, after starting 23rd to land in the top ten. Brock, Stone, Rowe, and North Carolina’s Matt Wallace won heat races. Albert Francis won the “B-Main” race and Todd Price won the non-qualifiers race.

Adam Kostelnik was the fastest qualifier for the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Modifieds’ 50-lap feature race. Kostelnik also won a heat race and led the most laps in the feature. Pete Rech won the other heat race and took the feature race lead when the green flag waved. Kostelnik grabbed the top spot from Rech on lap eight and remained at the front of the field until a restart with eight laps to go. The incident that caused the racing to be halted, was a serious collision between Rech and former Champion Chris Brink. Both drivers walked away from the crash, but three-time winner Rech declared that his Modified is beyond repair.

With seven laps to go, sophomore driver R.J. Dallape passed Kostelnik for the lead. That winning pass occurred just two laps before Kostelnik’s engine malfunctioned, sending him to the pits in a cloud of smoke. Dallape held off defending Jennerstown Modified Champion Anthony Aiello for the biggest win of his young career. The official top five finishers were: Dallape, Aiello, “Racin’ Jason” Busch, who recovered from an earlier spin, Ohio invader Jeff Dunfee and Mike Carlson, who placed fifth after sitting out the early part of the 2019 season.

Dale Kimberly put on a driving clinic, winning the Farmers Union Co-Op Chargers’ main event. Kimberly haunted the rear bumper of Scott Mitchell for many laps, before making the winning pass on lap 17 of 35. The two most veteran drivers in the field have both won in 2019, and they finished first and second. Kimberly is the leading winner in the division for 2019, as he was, also in 2018. Casey Fleegle, Dan Jackson, and Chase Payton finished third through fifth. Jackson and Mitchell won the heats.

Cover photo by Blake Harris.

Martella’s Pharmacies Late Models
Pos Start Driver Hometown Car
1 2 Todd Stone Middlebury, VT #1X
2 10 Mike Hopkins Hermon, ME #15H
3 1 Ray Christian Uncasville, CT #93CT
4 9 Cory Casagrande Stafford Springs, CT #7CT
5 3 Josh Brock Corbin, KY #17
6 7 Teddy Gibala Coulter, PA #3
7 17 Garry Wiltrout Somerset, PA #95
8 5 Ben Rowe Turner, ME #4
9 19 Jimmy Renfrew Candia, NH #00
10 23 Jarred Barclay Somerset, PA #92
11 4 Matt Wallace Concord, NC #6
12 14 Sammy Smith Johnston, IA #12
13 6 Jerick Johnson Mooresville, NC #76
14 8 Devin O’Connell Madison, CT #43
15 26 Dave Russell, CT #93DR
16 16 Bryan Shipp Scottdale, PA #40
17 28 Mike Parks Walpole, NH #93R
18 27 Jordan Miller Mooresville, NC #15J
19 25 Albert Francis Painesville, OH #33F
20 11 Weston Griffith Crown Port, IN #33G
21 24 Brandan Marhefka Windber, PA #13
22 13 Joey Doiron Berwick, ME #73
23 20 Barry Awtey Jenners, PA #75
24 22 Drake Troutman Hyndman, PA #7
25 12 Gary St. Amant Delaware, OH #7S
26 18 Mike Hemminger Stoystown, PA #72
27 15 Eldon King Freedom, NY #0
28 30 Sam Fullone North Collins, NY #48
29 21 Zane Ferrell Ruffs Dale, PA #14
30 29 Mike Sweeney Nesquehoning, PA #D11

B Feature
Pos Start Driver Hometown Car
1 1 Albert Francis Painesville, OH #33F
2 4 Dave Russell, OH #93DR
3 2 Jordan Miller Mooresville, NC #15J
4 3 Mike Parks Walpole, NH #93R
5 7 Mike Sweeney Nesquehoning, PA #D11
6 6 Sam Fullone North Collins, NY #48
7 5 Bobby Grubaugh Columbus, OH #5G
8 10 Todd Price Bedford, PA #66
9 13 Gregory Kelley Connellsville, PA #44K
10 9 Rick Boyer Blairsville, PA #5
11 11 Mark Smith Meyersdale, PA #44
12 8 John Komarinski Greensburg, PA #33
13 12 Chola Shay Matamoras, PA #2

Non Qualifier Race
Pos Start Driver Hometown Car
1 2 Todd Price Bedford, PA #66
2 1 Bobby Grubaugh Columbus, OH #5G
3 3 Gregory Kelley Connellsville, PA #44K
4 6 John Komarinski Greensburg, PA #33
5 5 Mark Smith Meyersdale, PA #44

Stoystown Auto Wreckers Modifieds
Pos Start Driver Hometown Car
1 6 RJ Dallape Jennerstown, PA #75
2 4 Anthony Aiello White Oak, PA #31
3 3 Jason Busch Pittsburgh, PA #42
4 12 Jeff Dunfee Mantua, OH #3D
5 13 Mike Carlson Nemacolin, PA #90
6 11 Brad Milburn Schellsburg, PA #95
7 10 Cindy Shaulis Somerset, PA #83
8 8 Dustin Gursky Friedens, PA #29
9 5 Rick Sibila Massillum, OH #02
10 15 Jeff Barclay Rockwood, PA #92B
11 9 Matt Smith Charleroi, PA #3
12 1 Adam Kostelnik E. McKeesport, PA #00
13 2 Pete Rech Pittsburgh, PA #9
14 7 Chris Brink Penn Run, PA #7

Farmers Union Co-Op Chargers
Pos Start Driver Hometown Car
1 3 Dale Kimberly Sutersville, PA #22
2 2 Scott Mitchell Somerset, PA #20
3 4 Casey Fleegle Friedens, PA #113
4 1 Dan Jackson Hooversville, PA #11
5 5 Chase Payton Vanderbilt, PA #48
6 6 Riley Hemminger Stoystown, PA #72
7 10 Bob Mostoller Pittsburgh, PA #43
8 8 Justin Frampton Boswell, PA #66
9 9 Steven Brown Mercersburg, PA #35
10 7 Steven Singo Hooversville, PA #7