Josh Berry celebrates in victory lane after winning the 2019 ValleyStar Credit Union 300. (Dinah Mullins photo)

MARTINSVILLE, VA – Josh Berry made it look easy.

The Jr Motorsports driver led wire-to-wire, virtually unchallenged, to win his first ValleyStar Credit Union 300 at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday night.

Berry started on the pole after setting a new track record in qualifying on Friday night and swept all three stages in the feature event.  The only challenge he saw all race was on a restart when Bobby McCarty drew even, a challenge Berry quickly shook off.

“It seemed like, as the track cooled off, it just came to us,” Berry told Race22 after the race.  “We hit a great lap in qualifying.  That was amazing.  Even still then, you don’t really know.  We took off and the car was just so good and we were able to stay out front, stay out of trouble, there really wasn’t that many cautions.  That allowed us to get spread out, log laps, and the long runs were really good for us.”

The victory is the first for Berry at Martinsville Speedway – and comes one year after Berry was in position to win the race before he was sidelined in a late race incident.

“Last year, we had a great car,” Berry said.  “All the [format] changes that they made here benefit me.  I’m a way better qualifying single car and the no invert deal with the cautions, it definitely played in my favor.”

Lee Pulliam finished in second while Timothy Peters, Bobby McCarty and Bubba Pollard rounded out the top-five.

This is a developing story and will be updated.

Unofficial Results

  1. Josh Berry
  2. Lee Pulliam
  3. Timothy Peters
  4. Bobby McCarty
  5. Bubba Pollard
  6. Peyton Sellers
  7. Justin Carroll
  8. Kyle Dudley
  9. Dustin Rumley
  10. Kres Vandyke
  11. Colin Garrett
  12. Jacob Heafner
  13. Travis Swaim
  14. Mike Darne
  15. Brennan Poole
  16. Justin Hicks
  17. Zack Clifton
  18. Jimmy Wallace
  19. Grayson Cullather
  20. Davin Scites
  21. CE FAlk
  22. Trey Crews
  23. Matt Leicht
  24. Stacy Puryear
  25. Derrick Lancaster
  26. Layne Riggs
  27. Trevor Noles
  28. Ryan Wilson
  29. Jason York
  30. Sammy Smith
  31. Taylor Gray
  32. Jonathan Findley
  33. Dexter Canipe Jr
  34. Eric Winslow
  35. Tommy Lemons Jr
  36. Chad McCumbee
  37. Mike Looney
  38. Craig Moore
  39. Austin Thaxton
  40. Tyler Matthews