MARTINSVILLE, VA :: Former Late Model Stock Car driver and UARA-STARS Rookie of the Year, Darrell Wallace, Jr picked up his first career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory on Saturday in the Kroger 200 at Martinsville Speedway. Wallace led three times for 96 times on Saturday afternoon.

“Oh my god. This is – I don’t know man, I’m speechless right now.” Wallace said. “I had so much confidence coming into this race and I told my guys that I did and I told everybody that asked if I was going to win I said, Hell yeah, every time.”

Wallace is the first African-American driver to win a NASCAR National touring series race since Wendell Scott did back in December 1963 at Speedway Park in Jacksonville, FL.

“He (Wendell Scott) was watching over me this race. It all goes to him. It will take me to tomorrow to think about everything that is set in place, but to be the first since him it’s outstanding. It doesn’t hurt to have everybody here with me celebrating.”

Brendan Gaughan started 15th on Saturday and brought his South Point Hotel & Casino Chevrolet home in the runner up position.

“Early in the race, I let Kevin Harvick go by and let him move people and just followed him. That’s how I got my best finish here, following Dennis Setzer doing the same thing.”

“We were too loose to start this race the first run of the race, just couldn’t keep good bit coming off the corner, so Shane Wilson made a couple of adjustments and they were great at the end.”

Former South Boston Speedway racer, Jeb Burton finished in third position on Saturday. Burton started 9th in the Kroger 200.

“Our truck was nowhere near as good as it was in the spring. I couldn’t get in the corners like I needed to and then rolling to the middle, I was loose. We were just hanging on.” Said Burton following his finish.

Points leader Matt Crafton finished 17th on Saturday afternoon, while his main competition, Ty Dillon and James Buscher finished 22nd and 10th respectively.

“This was one to get through and we lost minimal points I guess to the 31. I think he finished 10th and we finished 17th. It wasn’t the end of the world. We did everything we had to do. “ Crafton said.

Kevin Harvick and Ty Dillon would be involved in the biggest story of the day.  Both were racing for the second position behind leader, Darrell Wallace, Jr.  Contact was made and both went spinning in turn two.

“He just dumped me” Harvick said after the altercation. “That’s exactly the reason why I’m leaving RCR, because you’ve got those kids coming up, and they’ve got no respect for what they do in this sport and they’ve had everything fed to them with a spoon.” Harvick said to Fox Sports 1.

Ty Dillon, however would see the accident a different way.

“Typical Kevin Harvick and pretty much his career at RCR. He was kind of hogging the bottom, and I just kept diving to the inside” said Dillon. “I was low, and he kept chopping down, chopping down. It was getting toward the end of the race and I gave him a tap and he got sideways, but then he hit the brakes to try to brake check me in the middle of the corner.”

Harvick would finish the race in 30th while Dillon soldiered on to finish 22nd.

The Truck Series rolls west next week, to the Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, before heading back to the mile track in Phoenix, Arizona.

Kroger 200 Results
1. #54 Darrell Wallace, Jr — 200 Laps
2. #62 Brendan Gaughan — 200
3. #4 Jeb Burton — 200
4. #30 Ben Kennedy — 200
5. #29 Ryan Blaney — 200
6. #51 Denny Hamlin — 200
7. #77 German Quiroga — 200
8. #98 Johnny Sauter — 200
9. #92 Scott Riggs — 200
10. #31 James Buescher — 200
11. #8 Max Gresham — 200
12. #18 Joey Coulter — 200
13. #7 John Wes Townley — 200
14. #19 Ross Chastain — 200
15. #27 Jeff Agnew — 200
16. #22 John Hunter Nemechek — 200
17. #88 Matt Crafton — 200
18. #60 Dakota Armstrong — 200
19. #33 Brandon Jones — 200
20. #94 Chase Elliott — 200
21. #32 Miguel Paludo — 200
22. #3 Ty Dillon — 200
23. #75 Caleb Holeman — 199
24. #24 Brennan Newberry — 199
25. #39 Ryan Sieg — 197
26. #17 Timothy Peters — 195
27. #68 Clay Greenfield — 195
28. #9 Ron Hornaday, Jr. — 194
29. #57 Norm Benning — 193
30. #14 Kevin Harvick — 189
31. #81 Timmy Hill — 186
32. #6 Daniel Hemric — 140
33. #99 Bryan Silas — 137
34. #84 Brad Reithmeyer — 52
35. #93 Chris Jones — 11
36. #07 Jimmy Weller — 6