The qualifying procedure for the Snowball Derby is both unique and elaborate.

Like the Daytona 500, some teams will even have to race their way into the starting lineup for the Super Bowl of Short Track racing. With nearly 70 cars entered into the event and only 37 of them taking the green flag, a majority of the garage will not make it into the main event.

With that in mind, here’s how to qualify for the Snowball Derby.

On Friday night, each driver will be given two timed laps with the 30 quickest times automatically qualifying into the race. Any driver that misses his or her turn in line can start no better than 11th.

Those outside of the top-30 will be entered into Saturday night’s 50-lap last chance race with the top-four finishers transferring into the field of 37.

The final three spots are reserved for a past winner of the Snowball Derby and the highest non-qualifying driver from the Five Flag Speedway regular season and the Southern Super Series championship, respectively. This ensures that everyone in the field is a proven winner and is capable of capturing the Tom Dawson Memorial trophy on Sunday afternoon.


Snowball Derby practice recap | Qualifying Order

John Hunter Nemechek, Casey Smith and Casey Roderick are the only three drivers 100 percent guaranteed a starting spot based on their provisional status. They are locked into Sunday regardless of what happens on Friday. Should they make the field based on their qualifying speed, their provisionals will be offered to the next most recent Derby champion and third place in the Blizzard/Southern Super Series standings and so forth.

The pole-sitter for the Snowball Derby will also be crowned on Friday night, a prestigious honor in its own right.

“Snowball Derby Pole Night is one of the most intense few hours in short track racing,” Five Flags Speedway Track Promoter Tim Bryant said. “We receive a fantastic number of entries every year and only 37 of them make the race, sending everyone else home.

“So qualifying for this event is awfully dramatic and will keep everyone on the edge of their seat.”

It’s a complex procedure but it’s also part of what makes the Snowball Derby stand out. Pole qualifying begins at approximately 7:00 p.m. EST when Tim Martin is expected to be the first driver to turn his laps. The session, like the entire event, will be streamed on’s 51TV Pay-Per-View streaming service.

Hunter Robbins is the defending pole-sitter of the Snowball Derby while Chase Elliott holds the Super Late Model track record with a lap time of 16.133 seconds set in December 2013. Elliott will be the penultimate qualifier on Friday night and will have a prime opportunity to beat his own record before graduating to the Sprint Cup Series next season with Hendrick Motorsports.

Qualifying will be followed by 50-lap feature races for the Super Stocks and popular Southern Modified divisions.

The complete qualifying order for the 48th Annual Snowball Derby has been provided below.

1 1 Tim Martin
2 129 Spencer Davis
3 5 Dalton Sargeant
4 H2 Bret Holmes
5 51 Stephen Nasse
6 94 Quinnton Bear
7 26 Bubba Pollard
8 3 Kaz Grala
9 7 John DeAngelis, Jr.
10 75 Jeremy Doss
11 11 Logan Boyett
12 4 Kyle Plott
13 57 Cole Timm
14 99 Junior Niedecken
15 5 Daniel Hemric
16 31 Kyle Grissom
17 43 Derek Thorn
18 99 Casey Smith
19 04 Dalton Armstrong
20 42 Dennis Prunty
21 10 Steve Dorer
22 12 Harrison Burton
23 23 Dalton Grindle
24 2 D.J. VanderLey
25 2W Donnie Wilson
26 8 John Hunter Nemechek
27 5 Jerry Artuso
28 83 Scotty Ellis
29 7 Casey Roderick
30 42 Chad Finley
31 18 Quin Houff
32 43 Dennis Schoenfeld
33 92 Ronald McDonald
34 98 Todd Gilliland
35 7 Paul Shafer, Jr.
36 11 David Rogers
37 29 Caleb Adrian
38 79 Kyle Bryant
39 13 Cassius Clark
40 811 Mason Mingus
41 53 Boris Jurkovic
42 47 Allen Karnes
43 22 Josh Bragg
44 77 Zane Smith
45 89 Roger Reuse
46 112 Augie Grill
47 47 Brian Campbell
48 04 Corey Roper
49 1 Garrett Jones
50 21 Johanna Long
51 67 Clay Jones
52 96 Wade Day
53 20 Cole Rouse
54 51 Michael Atwell
55 07 Corey LaJoie
56 91 Ty Majeski
57 48 Preston Peltier
58 9 William Byron
59 51 Christopher Bell
60 9 Derek Kraus
61 8 Noah Gragson
62 9 Chase Elliott
63 15 Christian Eckes