Lee Pulliam (5) and Sam Yarbrough (20) battle for the lead and the win at Myrtle Beach Speedway. (Corey Latham/Race22.com photo)

Pulliam Remains Unbeaten with Myrtle Beach Victory

Lee Pulliam picked up his third win in his third start of the 2017 season in a 75 lap Late Model Stock Car race at Myrtle Beach Speedway on Saturday.

Pulliam rode around inside the top 10 for much of the race, but when it came down to crunch time, Pulliam charged to the front.  He made the pass on Sam Yarbrough with six laps remaining in the race and held off Yarbrough and track regular Brian Vause to score his second Myrtle Beach victory of 2017.

“I saw [Yarbrough] was really starting to distance himself from the field,” Pulliam said after the race.  “I didn’t want to go that early but I felt like he was doing a smart job if we went caution free.  Worked out for me.  I was able to just get to him in time and pass him with about six to go.  What a race for the fans.  The last two races were exciting here and another great show.”

Sam Yarbrough led much of the race but had to settle for a second place finish after the late race pass by Pulliam.

“The car was leaps and bounds from where we’ve been,” Yarbrough explained.  “We got off there for a long time and pretty much ran like crap.  We tested a lot, put a lot into it.  It was just a little too tight from the get go and I knew it.  About halfway through the race, I decided I might as well go and make them catch me.  That damn 5 car’s just too good.”

Brian Vause started on the pole and finished third while Justin Milliken and Jeremy McDowell rounded out the top-five.

Pulliam now has three wins on the 2017 season, two wins at Myrtle Beach and another at Southern National Motorsports Park earlier this month.

Race22.com’s Corey Latham contributed to this report.

Unofficial Results

  1. Lee Pulliam
  2. Sam Yarbrough
  3. Brian Vause
  4. Justin Milliken
  5. Jeremy McDowell
  6. Lucas Williams
  7. Jerry Miracle
  8. Matt Cox
  9. Haley Moody
  10. TJ Barron
  11. Tyler Hughes
  12. Luke Sorrow
  13. Thad Moffitt
  14. Tyler English
  15. Chris Throckmorton
  16. Robbie Mew
  17. Ed Williams
  18. Chad McCumbee
  19. Jamie Weatherford
  20. Jackie Ward
  21. Jason Calhoun
  22. David Roberts
  23. Bryant Barnhill

Was This Post Helpful:

0 votes, 0 avg. rating

Andy Marquis

Andy Marquis

Andy Marquis is the managing editor of Race22.com, joining the team in 2011. Marquis has vast journalism experience, having covered ARCA, INDYCAR, NASCAR, AMA and IHRA Drag Racing. He has also covered politics from the local level in Maryland to the national level in Washington. Currently, he oversees the editorial side of Race22.com on a day-to-day basis while also contributing features and covering races on location.