Lee Pulliam Wins Fourth National Championship

Lee Pulliam has officially clinched his fourth NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national championship, NASCAR confirmed on Thursday.

Pulliam won 19 races in 2017 — with a majority of those wins coming at Myrtle Beach Speedway in South Carolina.  With his fourth championship, Pulliam ties Philip Morris for the second most championships in NASCAR Whelen All-American Series history.  Larry Phillips, who has been a nominee for the NASCAR Hall of Fame, has won five national titles.

It had been apparent that Pulliam won the championship on Saturday night, but a disqualification of Ryan Vargas at Kern County Raceway, which was announced on Tuesday, put the issue in doubt.  Because of Vargas’ disqualification, Trevor Huddleston picked up an additional victory — increasing his win total to 22.  Huddleston finished second in national points to Pulliam.

Was This Post Helpful:

1 votes, 5 avg. rating

Andy Marquis

Andy Marquis

Andy Marquis is the managing editor of Race22.com, joining the team in 2011. Marquis has vast journalism experience, having covered ARCA, INDYCAR, NASCAR, AMA and IHRA Drag Racing. He has also covered politics from the local level in Maryland to the national level in Washington. Currently, he oversees the editorial side of Race22.com on a day-to-day basis while also contributing features and covering races on location.