MARTINVILLE, VA – Philip Morris started on the pole and led every single lap of the first ValleyStar Credit Union 300 heat race at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday.

Morris held off Kres VanDyke and Jeff Oakley to pick up the heat race win, meaning he will start third in the feature race.  Oakley, VanDyke, Trevor Ward and Trevor Noles finished in the top-five.

Rounding out the drivers who transferred into the main event are Mike Darne, Colin Garrett, Matt Leicht, Grayson Cullather and Corey Heim.