SOUTH BOSTON, VA :: 47 drivers have been invited to the 2014 Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown at South Boston Speedway.  Those invitees include champions, top five Late Model Stock Car finishers from last year’s race at Richmond International Raceway, top finishers from the Virginia is for Racing Lovers 300 at Martinsville and top finishers in points in Virginia.

If any of the 47 drivers turn down an invitation, their spots will be filled by drivers on an alternate roster.  15 drivers have been optioned on the alternate roster.  Lynn Carroll and the Denny Hamlin Foundation have contacted each of the drivers and a handful of drivers are questionable.  Only the selected alternate drivers can take a place of invitees who turn down an invitation to compete.  These invitees will race alongside some of NASCAR racing’s superstars including Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, Timothy Peters and others.


National Champion
1. Lee Pulliam
Top Finishers in the NWAAS final National Championship Points
1. Deac McCaskill (2nd)
2. Keith Rocco (3rd) *
3. Ryan Preece (4th) *
4. Craig Von Dohren (5th) *
5. Duane Howard (6th) *
Top 5 State/Canadian Provincial Champions
1. C E Falk, III
2. Tommy Lemons, Jr
3. Woody Pitkat *
4. Jeff Strunk *
5. Chad Finchum *
Virginia Track Champions
1. Austin Thaxton (2nd)
2. Peyton Sellers (2nd)
3. Nick Smith (2nd)
Top 5 Finishers in NWAAS Virginia State points
1.Matt Bowling
2. Matt Waltz
3. Greg Edwards
4. Bobby McCarty
5. Casey Wyatt
Past NWAAS National Champion
Phillip Morris
Top 5 Late Model Finishers in 2013 Denny Hamlin Short Track Event
1. Ronnie Bassett, Jr (4th)
2. David Garbo (6th)
3. Dillon Bassett (7th)
4. Anderson Bowen (8th) *
5. Gray Gaulding (12th)
Top 5 Finishers in the 2013 Martinsville “Virginia is for Racing Lovers” Event
1. Dennis Setzer (3rd) *
2. Blake Stallings (4th)
3. Ryan Stiltner (5th)
4. Wayne Ramsey (6th)
5. Brenden Queen (7th)
DHF Invitees
1. Bruce Anderson
2. Dustin Storm
3 Ronald Hill
4. Josh Oakley
5. Doug Godsey
6. Eddie Johnson
7. Jeremy Burns
8. David Polenz
9. Kaz Grala
10. Frank Deiny, Jr
14. Greg Fernandez
12. Brad Eddy
13. Brian Pembelton
14. Bugs Hairfield
15. Dude Gibbs
16. Mark Wertz
17. Scott Turlington
Alternate Invitees
George Brunhozel, III
Lin O’Neil
Myatt Snider
Peyton Ryan
Quin Houff
Steven Berry
Trey Hutchens
Rusty Skews
Alex Yontz
Austin Hill
Chris Hopkins
Josh Berry
Matt McCall
Shayne Lockhart
Dennis Holdren

* Denotes questionable driver


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here