SWANSBORO, NC – Brandon Clements, who is the winningest driver in Carteret County Speedway history, clinched the track championship in style on Saturday night, with a victory.

Clements surrendered the lead early in the 50-lap race after starting on the pole – first to Eric Winslow then to Justin Carroll.  With 11 laps to go, Clements made the pass to get back around Carroll to take the lead and the win – his fifth Late Model win of the year.

“This really means a lot to me,” an emotional Clements said in victory lane.  “I was a little kid and my dad told me I was going to be a champion here.  I’ve been here every year and been a champion [in Mini-Stocks] but really, this one’s good.  We got this one.”

Carroll finished second in his first career Carteret County Speedway start while Joshua Yeoman finished third.  Rounding out the top-five were Clay Jones and Eric Winslow.

Brandon Clements (7) and Justin Carroll (22) side-by-side on track at Carteret County Speedway. (Andy Marquis photo)


  1. Brandon Clements
  2. Justin Carroll
  3. Joshua Yeoman
  4. Clay Jones
  5. Eric Winslow
  6. Paul Williamson
  7. Chris Dobbs