vMARTINSVILLE, VA – Mike Looney picked up the win in a wild opening heat race over Matt Leicht, transferring into the feature as he chases his second Martinsville victory.

Looney inherited the lead in the heat when Jake Crum was penalized for jumping a restart.  He held off Leicht to finish first.  Jacob Heafner, Kres VanDyke and Kyle Dudley rounded out the top-five finishers.

Mike Darne, Colin Garrett, Justin Hicks, Jimmy Wallace and Zack Clifton rounded out the top-10.  Only the top-10 finishers transfer.  Brandon Clements was the first of the cars who did not transfer.

The second heat race will roll off around 4:30pm.  The feature will go green at 7pm.

Heat race #1 results

  1. Mike Looney
  2. Matt Leicht
  3. Jacob Heafner
  4. Kres Vandyke
  5. Kyle Dudley
  6. Mike Darne
  7. Colin Garrett
  8. Justin Hicks
  9. Jimmy Wallace
  10. Zack Clinfton
  11. Brandon Clements
  12. BJ Mackey
  13. Jake Crum
  14. Annabeth Barnes Crum
  15. Jamie Sweeny
  16. Kyle Southern
  17. Mack Tatum
  18. Matt Waltz
  19. Brenden Queen
  20. Jamey Caudill
  21. Owen Smith
  22. Bruce Anderson
  23. Lucas Williams