THORNBURG, VA – Reigning Dominion Raceway champion Jeff Oakley opened up the 2019 season in victory lane after winning in a wild opening night feature at Dominion on Saturday.

Oakley muscled his way past Philip Morris, who started on the pole after an invert, on lap 25 to take the lead and held off numerous challenges from Morris, and others, to score the win.  After the race, Oakley said it was one of the biggest wins of his career.

“First I’d like to thank my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, for giving me a chance to be here tonight,” Oakley said.  “I’ll tell you what, I prayed about this first race a lot over the winter.  I prayed we’d make the right decisions and bring the right stuff to the track.  What a pleasure to drive that racecar tonight.”

This was Oakley’s first time prevailing in a battle against The King of Late Model Stock Car racing, Philip Morris.  Oakley was elated about finally being able to hold off Morris.

“We beat Philip Morris,” Oakley stated.  “I’ve never beat him before.  I’ll tell you, this is a very special win.”

Morris ended up finishing second while Sergio Pena, Davey Callihan, and Doug Barnes rounded out the top-five.  The race ended under caution when an incident that took Tyler Hughes out occurred on the restart during the race’s one and only green-white-checkered attempt.

Doug Barnes recovered from a mid-race penalty to finish fifth.  Barnes got into Bruce Anderson in a battle for second.  Anderson went around and Barnes was sent to the rear for the contact.

Michael Hardin had also spent a significant amount of time inside the top-three before his car came to a rest, sidelining him for the remainder of the event.  The race had been slowed by cautions, and red flags, on multiple occasions.

The next race at Dominion Raceway will be held on Saturday, April 20th.

Unofficial Results

  1. Jeff Oakley
  2. Philip Morris
  3. Sergio Pena
  4. Davey Callihan
  5. Doug Barnes
  6. Grayson Cullather
  7. Blake Morris
  8. Randy Roberts
  9. Eric George
  10. Mike Ganoe
  11. Tyler Hughes
  12. Chandler Sherman
  13. Michael Munley
  14. Colby Stottlemyer
  15. Timmy Phipps
  16. Alex Brock
  17. Howie Disavino, III
  18. Bruce Anderson
  19. Michael Hardin
  20. Chase Burrow
  21. Mike Michalski
  22. Cole Knopp
  23. Logan Jones
  24. Robert Bruce
  25. Mark Miller
  26. Aaron Donnelly