Story by: Chris Owens ~ [email protected]

Timmonsville, SC (October 12, 2010) – Lower admission prices for the infield and the introduction of the “Dixie” Double File Restarts headlined the racing at Florence Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Strom Altman Sr. was back in his red number seven entry and claimed his third pole of the season topping Averitt Lucas and Michael Elliott in qualifying.

The action began right from the start as Altman spun on the first lap trying to stay off Lucas exiting four. A complete restart was in order which saw Altman return to his pole position. The second start saw Harold Ethirdge and Remington Prince get together going into turn one. Ethridge was unpleased with Prince and showed it later in the race.

The third attempt at a start was a successful one as Altman got the jump and cleared Lucas by turn one. Just three laps in we had our first official caution of the race when Ethridge went around entering turn three. Damage to the front of his car was minimal and he continued on.

The top three, Altman, Lucas and Elliott put on one of the best shows of the year. Lucas gave Altman a run several times but was unable to get around him. Elliott gave Lucas several runs get around him and went after Altman several times. Altman held off all attempts to get around him during the race.

A late caution when Harold Ethridge sent Remington Prince around in turn one, would bunch the field up and allow Lucas and Elliott one last shoot at getting the win. Altman got a good start but Lucas was all over him entering turn one. As the field took the white flag, Altman had the spot. Exiting turn four, Lucas made his move on the high side but it wasn’t enough to get around Altman who claimed his third win of the season in just three starts.

In the support divisions, Russ Turner Jr. claimed the Stock 4 Cylinder race. Ricky Locklair claimed the Super Stock race with Tyler Howell claiming the Bomber race.

Florence is back in action next Sunday afternoon with the Limited Late Models as the feature division and October 24th, the Super Trucks make there first visit to the speedway in over a year with a fifty lap, $1,500 to win race.

Limited Late Models (40 Laps)
1. #7 Strom Altman Sr.
2. #07 Averitt Lucas
3. #76 Michael Elliott
4. #01 Donnie Johnson
5. #28 Rudy Branham
6. #34 Raef Judd
7. #10 Ronnie Daniels
8. #9 Harold Ethridge Jr.
9. #30 Mitch Gales
10. #25 Remington Prince
11. #64 Steven Truell