Stacy Puryear (17) and Philip Morris (01) battle for position during a race at South Boston Speedway. (Corey Latham/ photo)

South Boston Boasts One of CARS Tour’s Most Impressive Fields

The CARS Tour released their entry list for Saturday’s South Boston 250 at South Boston Speedway in Virginia, which shows 25 Late Model Stock Cars set to compete in the race.

Aside from the stronger than normal car count, the season finale race for the CARS Tour features the most competitive field the tour has seen possibly since its inaugural race at Southern National Motorsports Park back in Mach 2015.

As reported first by, Philip Morris will make his series debut on Saturday, but he will not be alone.  Bobby McCarty will also make his first series start, as will Mike Jones.  In addition to the two Virginia drivers who have scored headline victories in 2017, Jake Crum, Stacy Puryear, Timothy Peters and Matt Bowling are set to make their returns to the CARS Late Model Stock Tour.

Peters will compete in the race fresh off a win in the ValleyStar Credit Union 300 at Martinsville Speedway last month.  Last season, Peters scored a victory in a CARS Tour race at Orange County Speedway.  Matt Bowling ran a CARS Tour race at Southern National in 2016 before chasing the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national championship, which he ended up clinching.  McCarty scored a win earlier this year in the Hampton Heat 200 at Langley Speedway.

Those headliners will join the contingent of CARS Tour regulars, such as series dominator Josh Berry, defending champion Deac McCaskill, sophomore sensation Layne Riggs, JR Motorsports driver Anthony Alfredo and Joe Gibbs Racing’s Ty Gibbs.

The 125 lap Late Model Stock Car feature will kick off the CARS Tour 250 on Saturday.

13 Super Late Models will compete in the 125 lap Super Late Model portion of the event.  Jake Crum and Jared Fryar will both attempt double duty in the CARS Tour 250 – competing in both the Late Model Stock Car and Super Late Model races.

“Honey Badger” Stephen Nasse, who won the Southern Super Series championship back in September, will also compete in the event, joining Snowball Derby winner Christian Eckes, 2016 CARS Super Late Model Tour champion Raphael Lessard, former PASS champion Tate Fogleman, defending PASS champion Matt Craig, Kyle Busch Motorsports driver Cole Rouse and others.

Entry Lists

CARS Late Model Stock Tour

  • Deac McCaskill
  • Philip Morris
  • Jake Crum
  • Craig Moore
  • Brandon Pierce
  • Anthony Alfredo
  • Timothy Peters
  • Ryan Repko
  • Kyle Barnes
  • Stacy Puryear
  • Ty Gibbs
  • Bobby McCarty
  • Chris Hudspeth
  • Thomas Beane
  • Brandon Grosso
  • Mike Jones
  • Craig Stallard
  • Justin Johnson
  • Ronald Hill
  • Blake Stallings
  • Jared Fryar
  • Matt Bowling
  • Chris Davis
  • Josh Berry
  • Layne Riggs

CARS Super Late Model Tour

  • Jake Crum
  • Brandon Setzer
  • Tate Fogleman
  • Cale Gale
  • Jared Fryar
  • Christian Eckes
  • Nolan Pope
  • Jeff Batten
  • Cole Rouse
  • Matt Craig
  • Stephen Nasse
  • Zane Smith
  • Raphael Lessard

The CARS Tour South Boston 250 will go green at 7pm.  The race will be broadcast live on CARSTour.TV.

Was This Post Helpful:

1 votes, 5 avg. rating

Andy Marquis

Andy Marquis

Andy Marquis is the managing editor of, joining the team in 2011. Marquis has vast journalism experience, having covered ARCA, INDYCAR, NASCAR, AMA and IHRA Drag Racing. He has also covered politics from the local level in Maryland to the national level in Washington. Currently, he oversees the editorial side of on a day-to-day basis while also contributing features and covering races on location.