Layne Riggs led wire-to-wire to score the victory in an otherwise exhilarating Solid Rock Carriers 150 at Carteret County Speedway on Saturday night.

Riggs’ victory came two weeks after a heartbreaking runner-up victory in the CARS Response Energy Late Model Stock Tour race.  In that race, Riggs had to race his way from the rear of the field to second after being spun around from the lead.  This weekend, nobody would get close enough to take the $15,000 win away from Riggs.

“I just gave it my all,” Riggs said.  “I’ve got to thank everybody on this team this weekend.  They fought.  We’re trying to get used to this carburetor and having less horsepower.  The F50 tires being harder, we slowed down almost a half second.  It was just really hard to get used to those, how to wear the tire and, thanks to everyone who helped me out to get me here.  People might not think it but we’re not the highest budget team here.  This is a free racecar that was given to us.  We just make the best with what we’ve got and we pulled it off tonight.”

Riggs said the $15,000 paycheck he got for winning was the most he has ever got for winning a race and he would “spend it wisely”.

Mini Tyrrell finished in the runner-up position for the second time at Carteret County Speedway in 2018.  Tyrrell had hoped to win, but battled adversity all weekend and took the runner-up position in stride.

“I couldn’t thank everybody enough,” Tyrrell commented.  “It’s just incredible.  The opportunity to do this, everybody here.  We battled motor issues for one and a half days.  All day yesterday, didn’t get a single lap of practice.  My crew and everybody on this crew did everything they could.  They put their blood, sweat and tears to get me on the track.  Started 11th, not have any laps and come up to second is truly incredible.”

Michael Tilley raced his way through the field to finish in third while Brandon Clements and Clay Jones rounded out the top-five.

The caution flag flew a handful of times for sporadic incidents throughout the race, with the final caution flying with five laps to go.  Riggs was able to survive a late race challenge from Tyrrell for the win.


  1. Layne Riggs
  2. Mini Tyrrell
  3. Michael Tilley
  4. Brandon Clements
  5. Clay Jones
  6. Chris Burns
  7. Rusty Daniels
  8. Austin Somero
  9. Tim Allensworth
  10. Eric Winslow
  11. Thomas Beane
  12. Todd Bradburry
  13. Tommy Peregoy
  14. Jonathan Kornegay
  15. Sammy Pacitti
  16. Coy Beard
  17. Tyler Horne
  18. Jimmy Wallace
  19. Jason York
  20. Heath Causey
  21. Joshua Yeoman